Guild Wars 2 Healing Classes

Healing takes a very different role in Guild Wars 2 than it did in the first game, and indeed than it does in many other MMO Role Playing Games. Ordinarily, there is a dedicated class that acts as the Healing class, and in the first Guild Wars’ case, this was the Monk. However, there is no class specifically designed for Healing in Guild Wars 2, and each class has Healing capabilities of its own.

Each Class has access to Skills that heal both the Player as well as others, though as expected some Classes are more capable Healers than other. For example, the Thief only has two Healing Skills; Eat Egg and Shadow Refuge. These pale in comparison to the eleven Healing Skills available to the Guardian.

As such, it depends on how highly the Player’s play style values Healing, but some aspects are available to everyone. The Healing Skills are listed below, ordered by the Profession chosen by the Player, and are explained in more detail in the Skill guides for each of the relevant Professions:

Engineer Healing Skills:

- Bandage Self (Tool Belt Skill)
- Drop Bandages (Med Kit Skill)
- Super Elixir (Requires the Elixir Gun for use)

Thief Healing Skills:

- Eat Egg (Stolen)
- Shadow Refuge

Elementalist Healing Skills:

- Cleansing Wave
- Cone of Cold
- Geyser
- Healing Rain
- Tidal Wave ( Trident Skill)
- Water Blast
- Water Trident (Scepter Skill)

Guardian Healing Skills:

- Command (Bow) (Requires Bow of Truth)
- Empower
- Faithful Strike
- Flash of Light
- Heal Area (Requires the Tome of Courage)
- Light of Deliverance (Requires the Tome of Courage)
- Light of Judgement (Trident Skill)
- Merciful Intervention
- Sanctuary
- Symbol of Judgment (Only used when the Player is downed)
- Virtue of Resolve
Necromancer Healing Skills:

- Deadly Feast
- Life Leech (Only used when a Player is downed or drowning)
- Life Siphon
- Signet of the Locust

As you can see, each Class generally offers a way in which the Player is able to heal themselves, and another in which they are able to Heal others, or protect them. Protection is largely confined to the Guardian Class, hence its title.

There are also thematic differences in relation to Healing between each of the Classes. For example, the Necromancer Healing Skills largely focus on sapping the life energy of a for and re purposing it for your own use, whereas the Elementalist Healing Skills are centered around harnessing the healing powers of Water to cleanse the Player and Allies of ailments and conditions.

In addition to the Profession specific Skills listed above, all Players, regardless of their choice of Profession, have the Bandage skill, which is used when the Player is downed or drowning. There are also two Race specific Healing Skills, these are Summon Healing Spring, which is available to Humans when their Elite Skill Become Avatar of Melandru is activated, and Healing Frenzy, a Skill exclusive to the Norn when they have activated their Elite Skill Become the Wolf.

Finally, many consumables also act as Healing items, and as a general rule they are sweet. Apples Pies, Sugar Cookies and Cotton Candy all regain Health, to name but a few.

As you can see, Healing is different in Guild Wars 2, but is more streamlined and easier to understand. In addition, as all Players now have access to Healing Skills, it doesn’t alienate those who wouldn’t want to choose a Healing Class, such as the Monk, and is largely considered a better system for that. For the Healing or Support minded, the Guardian Class is more than capable of playing that role.

Want more Guild Wars 2 strategy? Check out Tyria Guide, the Best GW2 Guide:

Comments are closed.